Whether or not a landlord can evict a month-to-month tenant is determined by the state in which they reside. Some states allow landlords to evict tenants without providing any reason, while others demand that landlords give a valid reason for wanting to expel a tenant. However, in most jurisdictions, the landlord must provide the tenant with a reasonable period of time to leave before initiating eviction proceedings.
Today, we’ll discuss Nevada’s landlord-tenant regulations for evicting a month-to-month tenant. To find out more about the particular rules that pertain to your region, contact your state’s housing or tenancy department.
A Quick Rundown of Eviction Process in Nevada
The length of time it takes to evict tenants in Nevada varies depending on the lease agreement or rental agreement they have with the landlord, as well as the reason for the eviction.
For example, if you have a bad tenant living in your rental property and you find out they’ve been dealing drugs on the premises, under Nevada law, all you have to do is give them a three-day notice to quit (meaning they have three days to leave the property). If the tenant pays rent weekly and has done nothing wrong, but the landlord simply wants them to vacate the property, they only have to give them a written notice with a seven-day notice period.
Eviction Services Companies
We are aware that this is a lot of information to take in, and that some of the words may be new to most people. So, if you’re a landlord looking for help navigating the eviction procedure, civil law, and landlord-tenant disputes on your own, just remember that eviction assistance for landlords is available. Calling a local eviction services firm like NMI Evictions to handle the eviction process for you is an easy way to save time and frustration for both the landlord and the tenant. They’ll handle everything from delivering the eviction notices and filing justice court papers to giving legal aid in court and changing your locks.
Month-to-Month Tenant Evictions
A month-to-month tenancy may be ended by simply evicting the renter, but according to Nevada law, you must provide them a 30-day notice to quit. We’re talking about business days for these eviction notices, not calendar days. This means that weekends and holidays aren’t factored into the eviction timeline. It’s also worth noting that the day you give the initial thirty-day notice is not considered one of the eviction days. You can’t deliver an eviction notice late in the day and claim that it counts towards one of the 30 days allowed. If the tenant does not depart after the expiration of the 30 days, you may serve them with a five-day Unlawful Detainer notice informing them that their presence is now unlawful under Nevada law.
In addition, if the renter has a physical or mental disability, or is over the age of 60, and you have documentation proving the tenant’s age or disability, you must give them an additional 30-day period so long as they can prove it and so long as the tenant continues to pay rent during to extension.
Exceptions to the Rule
You won’t have to give a month-to-month tenant a 30-day notice if he or she is ending your tenancy for the following reasons:
- If the tenant stops paying rent or if they consistently pay rent late
- Damages to the property have exceeded normal wear and tear
- Participating in illegal activity on the premises or running an unlicensed business
- Upsetting other residents or neighbors
If any of these lease violation concerns apply to a tenant in your rental property, you may give them a three-, seven- or ten-day notice to quit, depending on the severity of the problem.
It is possible to evict someone with a month-to-month tenancy in Nevada, but there are specific legal requirements that must be followed. If you have any questions or worries regarding the eviction procedure, contact an eviction services firm or an attorney.
If a tenant hasn’t exhibited a lease violation, or if they haven’t skipped paying rent, you must give them a 30-day notice to quit according to civil law eviction process rules and to avoid justice court. However, if your renter harms your rental property or breaches their rental agreement, you may be entitled to serve them an eviction notice with a shorter eviction notice period.
For more information on the eviction process in Nevada, see this useful article from NMI Evictions in Las Vegas, NV. If you need assistance evicting a tenant from your rental property for any reason, call the eviction experts at NMI Evictions.